Home - Home Tab

Home Tab

The Home tab is displayed when Advantage is started. To return to the Home tab, click the Home Toolbar button at any time. The Home tab displays the user's scheduled appointments and tasks.

 

View a recorded tutorial on The Home Screen.

Appointments

The Appointments panel lists all appointments for the current user that are scheduled within the selected date range.

Use the filters on the Appointments title bar to specify the date range for the listed appointments or whether to view only Open appointments, only Closed appointments, or Both the Open and the Closed appointments.

To create a new appointment, click the add button and enter the appointment details.

To edit the information about an existing appointment, double-click on the appointment.

To reschedule an appointment, select it and right-click Reschedule it. There are several choices for how far out you wish to reschedule the appointment, such as one day or one month later. If you wish to change the time of the meeting or need to choose a different number of days or months out, you must edit the appointment instead of rescheduling.

To assign an appointment to someone else, select it and right-click Assign it. Choose a new Employee to be responsible for the appointment. Please note that if the Related To is the same as the original Assigned To, then the Related To will be changed as well.

To convert an appointment to another type of activity, select it and right-click Convert To. You may convert an appointment to a task or a note. If you wish to keep the original appointment, then select Yes when asked to Keep the original activity after conversion?

To close an appointment, select it and right-click Close it.

To delete a appointment, select it and right-click Delete it. Deletion is permanent.

Tip: You may change more than one appointment at a time. To work on multiple random appointments at once, select one appointment, then hold down the CTRL key and individually select any additional appointments. Now right-click and press the desired function. To work on multiple appointments in a contiguous range, select the first appointment in the range, then hold down the SHIFT key and select the last appointment in the range. Now right-click and press the desired function. The functions that you may use on more than one appointment are Assign, Reschedule, Close and Delete. The other functions available, such as Edit or Email, apply only to the first item selected.

See the Appointment Dialog for more information on creating and editing appointments.

Tasks

The Tasks panel includes all tasks for the current user that have a Due Date within the selected date range.

Use the filters on the Tasks title bar to specify the date range for the listed tasks and whether to view only Open tasks, Closed tasks, or Both kinds of tasks for the current User. You may also Hide Overdue tasks.

The check box to the left of each task is checked if the task is closed and unchecked if the task is open.

To create a new task, click the add button and enter the task details.

To edit the information about an existing task, double-click on the task.

To reschedule a task, select it and right-click Reschedule it. There are several choices for how far out you wish to reschedule the task, such as one day or one month later. If you wish to change the reminder time or need to choose a different number of days or months out, you must edit the task instead of rescheduling.

To assign a task to someone else, select it and right-click Assign it. Choose a new Employee to be responsible for the task.

To convert a task to another type of activity, select it and right-click Convert To. You may convert a task to an appointment or a note. If you wish to keep the original task, then select Yes when asked to Keep the original activity after conversion?

To close an open task, click the check box. Depending on your settings, the task dialog will open for you to edit the task details and will be marked as closed with today's date. You may wish to fill in Task Results, or Completion information about the task before clicking Save and Close. If you do not wish to edit the task details each time you close a task, go to Tools -> Options -> Activities and clear the check box labeled Show task dialog when closing a task on the home screen.

To delete a task, select it and right-click Delete it. Deletion is permanent.

Tip: You may change more than one task at a time. To work on multiple random tasks at once, select one task, then hold down the CTRL key and individually select any additional tasks. Now right-click and press the desired function. To work on multiple tasks in a contiguous range, select the first task in the range, then hold down the SHIFT key and select the last task in the range. Now right-click and press the desired function. The functions that you may use on more than one task are Assign, Reschedule, Close and Delete. The other functions available, such as Edit or Email, apply only to the first item selected. When closing multiple tasks at once, you will not have an opportunity to fill in Task Results, or Completion information, even if that setting is set. You may, of course, edit a closed task later if you wish.

Go to the Task Dialog for details on creating and editing tasks.

Note: To see tasks assigned to another person in the firm, click the Tasks button on the toolbar and select Task List. Filter the list to select the other person as the Assigned To person.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.