Home - Activity Options

Activities Options

Click the Home toolbar button and select the Activities sub-tab on the Options tab. The Activities sub-tab allows you to specify preferences related to the Activities screen and Reminders, Notes, Tasks, and Documents.

To restore all options set on the System tab to the default settings, double-click the Restore Defaults Assistant in the left panel of the screen.

Reminders

Default Snooze (minutes)

The Default Snooze is the number of minutes delay before a reminder is displayed after clicking the Snooze button.

Go to the Appointment Dialog, Task Dialog, and Calendar Reminders for more information.

Show reminder dialogs for scheduled tasks/appointments

Check to display reminders when a task or appointment is due.

The first three options below define a default behavior for new tasks. When creating or editing an individual task, the user may override this default behavior.  See the Task Dialog for more information.

Maximize application when reminders occurs

If your ProTracker Advantage application in minimized at the time a Reminder occurs, the Reminder may be popped up behind your other open windows and you risk missing it. Check this box to have Advantage maximize itself and bring your reminder to the front when it occurs.

Tasks

Notify Action Person by Reminder when task is created

If selected, the Action Person will receive a popup message when a new task is created.

Notify Action Person by Email when task is created

When a new task is saved, a new email message is opened with the action person as the email's recipient, awaiting your approval and pressing of the Send button. The task's description is in the message of the email.

Notify Originator by Email when task is complete

When the task is marked completed, a new email message is opened with the task's originator as the email's recipient, awaiting your approval and pressing of the Send button. The task's due date, description and/or tasks's results are in the message of the email.

Limit Action Person list to Employees only

When adding a task, the Action Person drop-down list allows selection of any contact in the database.  If you would like the selection to be limited to employees only, check this option. This will also limit the Action Person drop-down selection on the Task List.

Show Task dialog when closing a task on home screen

If you wish to see the Task Dialog screen when closing a Task, then check this box. This allows you to make notes in the Task Results field or amend any other information about the Task.

Default due date is ___ day(s) after task is opened

Set the default number of days in the future when a newly created Task is due.

Default Category

The Category field must be filled every time that you create a Task. To save yourself some time, set a Default Category to be used at Task creation time. Select an entry from the Task Categories Pick List and the next time that you run the Add a Task dialog the Category field will already be filled for you.

To add or remove categories from this list, go to Operations -> Pick Lists and double-click on the Task Categories Pick List.

Tip: If you are working on a special project to, say, verify and update your clients' beneficiaries, and most of your work for a period of time will be devoted to that task, change the Default Category here and save yourself some keystrokes on each Task that you create.

Notes

Print Note dialog reports with rich-text formatting

Check this box to give you the opportunity to change the font, margins, and text alignment, and also to add lists with bullets or numbers when you enter a note.  With rich text formatting turned off, the note prints in using a standard Tahoma font without bullets, numbered lists, or any other formatting.  

Sometimes if rich-text is used, a long note in a note report is truncated or a page break in a note report occurs in the wrong place.  If you find this happening to you, uncheck the option Print Note dialog reports with rich-text formatting. In most cases, you won’t miss the rich text formatting, and the entire note will be displayed as you would like it to be.

Default Category

The Category field must be filled every time that you create a Note. To save yourself some time, set a Default Category to be used at Note creation time. Select an entry from the Note Categories Pick List and the next time that you run the Add a Note dialog the Category field will already be filled for you.

To add or remove categories from this list, go to Operations -> Pick Lists and double-click on the Notes Categories Pick List.

Documents

When linking a document, Move the File or Copy the File.

When the Document Linking icon is clicked in Document Explorer or in various other areas of Advantage, and a file is selected, you may determine if the file selected will be moved to the new location in Advantage's Document Management system, or copied to the new location.

Show abstracts on Document Explorer (slower)

If you find that Document Explorer is slow to open when selected from the Documents button on the toolbar, uncheck this option to speed up the Document Explorer's display of the files stored on your computer system for a client, contact, or group. Abstracts will no longer be displayed, but will still be stored in your Advantage database.

Show properties dialog when adding a new document

When you link or scan a document from Document Explorer, the Document Properties dialog opens to allow you to enter an abstract or properties for the document or assign the document to be reviewed.

You can disable the automatic appearance of this dialog by un-checking the option. This will improve the speed of adding new documents from within Document Explorer.

Note that the Document Properties dialog is always accessible by right-clicking on a document and selecting Edit Properties, either in Document Explorer or on the Activities screen.

Default Category

When you link a Document to a Client or Contact you may select a Category to describe the document. For example, you may wish to categorize your clients' wills and trust documents as Estate Planning documents. To save yourself some time, set a Default Category to be used at Document creation time. Select an entry from the Document Categories Pick List and the next time that you Link or Scan a Document, the Category field will already be filled for you.

To add or remove categories from this list, go to Operations -> Pick Lists and double-click on the Document Categories Pick List.

Tip: If you are working on a special project to get copies of your clients' wills and trust documents, change the Default Category here to Estate Planning and save yourself some keystrokes on each Document that you Link or Scan.

Emails

Default Category

When you archive an email message to a Client or Contact, you may select a Category to describe the message. For example, you may wish to categorize an email as relating to Estate Planning or IRA Contributions. You may set a Default Category to be used by the email archive process. Select an entry from the Document Categories Pick List and the next time that you archive, the Category field will already be filled for you. When left blank, the field value defaults to Email.

To add or remove categories from this list, go to Operations -> Pick Lists and double-click on the Document Categories Pick List. The Document Categories Pick List is used for emails because the messages are essentially documents.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.