Using AutoSync on a terminal server or hosted environment
Terminal Services provides two options when closing a client session: you can either log off or disconnect.
- Disconnecting leaves the session running on the server. You can reconnect to the server and resume the session. If you are running a task on the server, such as running a time consuming query on a database, you can start the task and disconnect from the session. Later, you can log back onto the server, reenter the session, and check the results.
- Logging off ends the session running on the server. Any applications running within the session will be closed and unsaved changes made to open files will be lost. The next time you log onto the server, a new session is created.
To allow the ProTracker Advantage AutoSync feature to continue to sync while the user is not actively connected, we recommend using the disconnect option.
If the user logs off, the AutoSync feature will start up the next time ProTracker Advantage is opened as long as at least one sync rule is enabled.